The learning disability improvement standards for NHS trusts

New standards to help NHS trusts measure the quality of care they provide to people with learning disabilities, autism or both.


The standards have been developed with a number of outcomes created by people and families — which clearly state what they expect from the NHS. By taking this approach to quality improvement, it places patient and carer experience as the primary objective, as well as recognising the importance of how the NHS listens, learns and responds in order to improve care.

There are four standards, which include:

  • respecting and protecting rights
  • inclusion and engagement
  • workforce
  • learning disability services standard (aimed solely at specialist mental health trusts providing care to people with learning disabilities, autism or both)

Find out more here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *